Roadrunner Curling Club was founded by James Brickey in 2017 to bring the fantastic sport of curling to Albuquerque. Along with Steve Stone and Pam Salata, he started the club as a MeetUp page to organize watch parties leading up to the 2018 Winter Olympics. In November 2017, the club acquired its first set of curling stones and the initial equipment to start curling at the Outpost Arena. The club is now a 501(c)3 nonprofit organization dedicated to promoting the sport of curling in New Mexico.

Roadrunner's setup is unique even for arena ice. While many arena-based clubs curl directly on hockey ice, at the Outpost,  curling takes place on two "tunnels" that connect the adjacent hockey rinks. The boards at the corners of the hockey rinks are raised and lowered via hydraulics, depending on the rink's scheduled activities. This allows us to curl during other events such as hockey practice, and as a result we are able to curl at much more favorable times!

One of the "tunnels" at Outpost Ice Arena
One of the "tunnels" at Outpost Ice Arena

Meet the Board

Our current Board of Directors was elected on August 14, 2020.

Officer positions will be determined at the next board meeting.

James Brickey


Gaetan Biane


Janine Waters


Allison Tutton


Carol Biane

Member at Large

Adam Bryant

Member at Large

Eric Lewin

Member at Large

Patrick Reid

Member at Large